New parliament president assumes post after MPs vote

Thursday, 18 July 2019 12:09
George Vitsaras / SOOC
A- A A+

New Parliament president Konstantinos Tassoulas was elected with a record number of votes, 283 out of 300, on Thursday. He is a veteran New Democracy (ND) party lawmaker elected from the northwest Ioannina prefecture.

Only deputies elected with the Communist Party (KKE) voted "present".

The previous Parliament president, Nikos Voutsis, had received 181 votes in September 2015.

Προτεινόμενα για εσάς